Our Purpose

The primary purposes of the Society are:

  • To work in partnership with national and regional organisations and all relevant stakeholders to represent and advocate for Tāmaki Makaurau secondary schools and their communities.
  • To provide a clear and positive line of communication for Tāmaki Makaurau Principals as a stakeholder group.
  • To foster collegial support networks that offer guidance, support and the sharing of expertise.


Membership of ASSPA is a requirement for student involvement in College Sport.

ASSPA has links to ERO, Ministry of Education, SPANZ and Principals’ Council. Members meet four times each year. ASSPA meeting dates for 2024 are:

  • Term 1: 8 March 2024 AGM
  • Term 2: 21 June 2024
  • Term 3: 30 August 2024
  • Term 4: 22 November 2024

A key feature of our meetings each year, are presentations by significant education sector leaders and opportunities for discussion and feedback on issues affecting schools.

Agendas are emailed to members in advance of each meeting.


Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland Secondary Schools Principals’ Association (ASSPA) Executive for 2024/25 is as follows:

Karen Brinsden (President) | Botany Downs Secondary College
Claire Amos (Vice President) | Albany Senior High School
Louise Addison | Edgewater College
Regina Rasheed | Zayed College for Girls
Falefatu Enari | Pacific Advance Senior School
Dean Wearmouth | St Ignatious of Loyola Catholic College
Fiona Barker | Green Bay High School
Adeline Blair | Kelston Boys’ High School
Sarah Kemble | Carmel College
Jane Stanley | Westlake Girls’ High School


Should you have any queries, please contact our administrator.